Elmo alternatives in 2026: GEO tools compared (including Sauror AI)
Elmo presents itself as an open-source AI-visibility platform for AEO and GEO. If you are looking for an alternative, the useful test is not only the $29: it is who queries the interface, how often, and whether you want to host the tool yourself.
What Elmo says about itself
This page is about Elmo (elmohq.com), published by Blue Whale Software, LLC — an open-source AEO / GEO tracker. It is not ELMO Software (elmosoftware.com.au), the Australian HR platform.
On elmohq.com, Elmo describes itself as “the open-source AI visibility platform for AEO and GEO”, a self-hostable alternative to Profound, Peec and Otterly. The FAQ names ChatGPT, Google AI Mode, Google AI Overviews, Gemini, Perplexity, Copilot and Claude, plus Grok, Mistral, DeepSeek and Qwen.
Published method: ChatGPT and Google AI Mode are scraped from the real interface; the other models go through API calls and OpenRouter. Elmo does not say the questions are asked from your signed-in session.
The Cloud grid: Starter $29/month ($290/year), 1 brand, 50 prompts, ChatGPT only, once a day. Basic $99/month, 4 platforms of your choice, 4×/day. Pro $299/month (2 brands, 150 prompts). Business $649/month (5 brands, 350 prompts). Unlimited seats, API and MCP on every plan. Annual billing gives two months free. Self-hosting: free, no licence, Docker Compose + CLI; you pay for infra and keys. White label and Custom: contact.
Self-host: no account and no card. Cloud: self-serve signup, no sales call. A Cloud trial length was not stated on the pages we read. Public site in English.
Facts checked on 8 October 2026 · sources: elmohq.com, elmohq.com/pricing. Prices in dollars. Footer publisher: Blue Whale Software, LLC.
If you want something other than Elmo
| Tool | Entry plan | Prompts | Cadence | Published method |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Elmo Cloud Starter | $29/month | 50 | 1× / day | Scraped interface (ChatGPT) |
| Elmo self-host | Free (infra + keys) | Unlimited (pricing page) | You set it | Same product, your servers |
| Otterly.AI Lite | $29/month | 15 | Daily | Neutral sessions |
| Peec AI Starter | Price not shown | Not published | Daily | Not specified |
| Sauror AI Track | €60 excl. VAT/month (€10 excl. VAT the first month) | 25 | Every two weeks × 3 | Automated, in your own sessions |
Elmo Cloud Starter and Otterly.AI Lite both start at $29/month. That is not the same volume (50 vs 15 prompts) nor the same catalogue (ChatGPT only vs four engines). Elmo self-host is the option if you want the code and zero licence fee.
Peec AI targets daily agency reporting; their pricing was not readable. Page: Peec AI alternatives. Otterly.AI: Otterly.AI alternatives. Pushrank is an SEO agent that publishes content, not only a tracker: Pushrank alternatives.
Where Sauror AI sits
Sauror AI is GEO software (SaaS) for web agencies and SaaS companies: it measures whether ChatGPT, Gemini and Perplexity cite a brand, then delivers fixes and content.
Where Elmo scrapes the interface or calls an API, Sauror AI asks your questions automatically, three times, every two weeks. ChatGPT, Gemini, Perplexity, Google AI Overviews and DeepSeek are the default pool; Claude and Grok only if you add them. No weekly email report for now.
Track: €60 excl. VAT/month (€42 excl. VAT/month on annual billing), 25 questions, 2 assistants, 3 users. First month at €10 excl. VAT, card required. Publish and Concierge are not for sale. The free check (Sauror Check) does not open ChatGPT: a server-side surface, a score, three actions.
Overview: GEO for SaaS. Nearby duel on the low-cost tracking side: Sauror AI vs Otterly.AI.
When to keep Elmo (and skip Sauror AI)
- You want to self-host an open-source tracker, with no licence and no card: Elmo documents that. Sauror AI is a SaaS.
- You want daily tracking (up to 4×/day from Basic): Elmo Cloud publishes that. Sauror AI measures every two weeks.
- 50 ChatGPT prompts at $29/month is enough, and you do not need Gemini, Perplexity or DeepSeek yet.
- You need an API / MCP from the entry plan: Elmo Cloud includes it. That is not documented the same way at Sauror AI.
- You will not give a card to try: Elmo self-host does not ask for one. The Sauror AI product trial does.
Common questions
Is Elmo free?
Self-hosting is: no licence; you pay for infrastructure and API keys. Elmo Cloud starts at $29/month (Starter). White label and Custom go through a contact form. Read on elmohq.com/pricing on 8 October 2026.
Does Elmo track the same engines as Sauror AI?
Elmo lists ChatGPT, Google AI Mode, Google AI Overviews, Gemini, Perplexity, Copilot, Claude, plus Grok, Mistral, DeepSeek and Qwen. Cloud Starter tracks ChatGPT only. Sauror AI measures ChatGPT, Gemini, Perplexity, Google AI Overviews and DeepSeek, plus Claude and Grok as an option. The lists overlap in part; cadence and method differ.
Should you leave Elmo for Sauror AI?
No, not by default. Stay with Elmo if self-hosting, a daily cadence or the API / MCP suit you. Look at Sauror AI if you want measurement in your own sessions, every two weeks, then the fixes and drafts.
How do you check these figures?
Every fact on this page has a vendor URL. Prices move: reopen elmohq.com/pricing, otterly.ai/pricing and peec.ai/pricing.
First month at 10 €
Then Track at 60 € excl. VAT/month, cancel anytime. Or 20 minutes to see the product.
Sauror AI